The Hooters – 500 miles

If you missed the train I’m on, you will know that I am goneYou can hear the whistle blow a hundred milesA hundred miles, a hundred miles, a hundred miles, a hundred milesYou can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles
Not a shirt on my back, not a penny to my nameAnd the land that I once loved is not my ownLord I’m one, Lord I’m two, Lord I’m three, Lord I’m fourLord I’m five hundred miles away from home
A hundred tanks along the square, one man stands and stops them thereSomeday soon the tide’ll turn and I’ll be freeWell I’ll be free, I’ll be free, I’ll come home to my countrySomeday soon the tide’ll turn and I’ll be free
If you missed the train I’m on, you will know that I am goneYou can hear the whistle blow a hundred milesLord I’m one, Lord I’m two, Lord I’m three, Lord I’m fourLord I’m five hundred miles away from homeLord I’m five hundred miles away from home, yea
Well I’ll be free, I’ll be free, I’ll come home to my countryLord I’m five hundred miles away from homeYou can hear the whistle blow five hundred milesLord I’m five hundred miles away from home

 

One thought on “The Hooters – 500 miles

  1. Hooters, hooters, hooters (dreaming myself away now) but back to the band…
    Wonderful reminding me about the 3 LPs i have with them. Were great back in the late 80s!
    Maybe do a listen to them again!

Leave a Reply

